[Robert J. Sawyer] Science Fiction Writer
Hugo and Nebula Winner

SFWRITER.COM > About Rob > Nebula Award > Winners (Chronological)

Nebula Winners for Best Novel

Here are all the winners of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America's Nebula Award for Best Novel of the Year, in chronological order. Nebulas are dated for the year of publication, which is the year before the year in which they are presented: the 1965 Nebula Award was bestowed in 1966.

1965    Dune                                  Frank Herbert
1966    Flowers for Algernon (tie)            Daniel Keyes
1966    Babel-17 (tie)                        Samuel R. Delany
1967    The Einstein Intersection             Samuel R. Delany
1968    Rite of Passage                       Alexei Panshin
1969    The Left Hand of Darkness             Ursula K. Le Guin
1970    Ringworld                             Larry Niven
1971    A Time of Changes                     Robert Silverberg
1972    The Gods Themselves                   Isaac Asimov
1973    Rendezvous with Rama                  Arthur C. Clarke
1974    The Disposessed                       Ursula K. Le Guin
1975    The Forever War                       Joe Haldeman
1976    Man Plus                              Frederik Pohl
1977    Gateway                               Frederik Pohl
1978    Dreamsnake                            Vonda N. McIntyre
1979    The Fountains of Paradise             Arthur C. Clarke
1980    Timescape                             Gregory Benford
1981    The Claw of the Conciliator           Gene Wolfe
1982    No Enemy But Time                     Michael Bishop
1983    Startide Rising                       David Brin
1984    Neuromancer                           William Gibson
1985    Ender's Game                          Orson Scott Card
1986    Speaker for the Dead                  Orson Scott Card
1987    The Falling Woman                     Pat Murphy
1988    Falling Free                          Lois McMaster Bujold
1989    The Healer's War                      Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
1990    Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea     Ursula K. Le Guin
1991    Stations of the Tide                  Michael Swanwick
1992    Doomsday Book                         Connie Willis
1993    Red Mars                              Kim Stanley Robinson
1994    Moving Mars                           Greg Bear
1995    The Terminal Experiment               Robert J. Sawyer
1996    Slow River                            Nicola Griffith
1997    The Moon and the Sun                  Vonda N. McIntyre
1998    Forever Peace                         Joe Haldeman
1999    Parable of the Talents                Octavia E. Butler
2000    Darwin's Radio                        Greg Bear
2001    The Quantum Rose                      Catherine Asaro
2002    American Gods                         Neil Gaiman
2003    The Speed of Dark                     Elizabeth Moon
2004    Paladin of Souls                      Lois McMaster Bujold
2005    Camouflage                            Joe Haldeman
2006    Seeker                                Jack McDevitt
2007    The Yiddish Policemen's Union         Michael Chabon
2008    Powers                                Ursula K. Le Guin
2009    The Windup Girl                       Paolo Bacigalupi
2010    Blackout/All Clear                    Connie Willis
2011    Among Others                          Jo Walton
2012    2312                                  Kim Stanley Robinson
2013    Ancillary Justice                     Anne Leckie
2014    Annihilation                          Jeff VanderMeer

More Good Reading

Robert J. Sawyer's essay on winning the Nebula Award
About The Terminal Experiment, Rob's Nebula-Award-winning novel

My Very Occasional Newsletter

About Rob
Book Clubs
Press Kit
How to Write
Email Rob
Canadian SF



Copyright © 1995-2024 by Robert J. Sawyer.